Search
Close this search box.

AldiThings is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Aldi Electric Lawn Mower: Ferrex Cordless LawnMower

Ferrex Cordless Lawn Mower

Ferrex Electric Lawn Mower from Aldi

Just about every week the Aldi Finds aisle has something I wouldn’t expect to see at an Aldi, and this week is no different. If you walk down that aisle the week of July 6, 2022 you will likely see an electric lawn mower. This is not a huge mower but it is also not just a weed trimmer on wheels.

This 14 inch lawn mower by Ferrex is electric and cordless with adjustable cutting height and a 13.4 inch cutting width. It includes a bag attachment to pick up the cut grass as you go and the handle folds for easy storage.

Aldi sells a variety of Ferrex lawn and garden tools like a trimmer, edger, and even an electric chainsaw!

Ferrex 14 inch Cordless Lawn Mower Details

  • Price: $169.99 (2022-prices may vary)
  • Available 7/6/2022
  • Adjustable cutting height with 6 positions
  • Cutting width: 13.4 inches
  • Designed for lawns up to 1/8 acre
  • Electric motor: does not require oil or gas
  • 1-bushel grass bagger with full bag indicator
  • Folding handle to save space in storage
  • Carry handle for easy transport
  • Aldi Product Code: 706753
Ferrex Electric Lawn Mower (Cordless) From Aldi
Images Courtesy of Aldi

Should You Buy Aldi’s Electric Lawn Mower?

The price of $169.99 for an electric lawn mower seems like a great deal at first glance but let’s dig a little deeper. First thing to note is the small size. This can be a benefit for many people with tight spaces and to make it easier to maneuver.

But if you have a bigger lawn to mow the cutting width of 13.4 inches means more passes to cut the grass. A fairly typical mower will have a cutting width of twenty plus inches and you can get to 30 inches or more on a push mower.

This mower is designed for lawns up to 1/8 of an acre which I am assuming means you can mow 1/8 of an acre on a full charge. That is not bad for many people’s yards but may come up short for people with larger yards.

We also don’t know the size or wattage of the battery or electric motor. We also don’t know if the battery is removable for charging and if you can get a spare to swap out.

Is it a Good Deal?

So you have decided the size of this mower works for you, now let see if it is a good deal. The Ferrex Cordless Mower sells for $169.99. We are missing some details for an exact comparison but we can still find some lawn mowers that are very similar.

The SunJoe 14 inch lawn mower is probably very close in size and features to the Ferrex Lawnmower and it is selling for a good price (at the time of posting). It is the same width but has three cutting heights instead of the six with the Ferrex.

The other big difference is SunJoe says it can mow a 1/4 acre lawn, which is twice as much as the Ferrex. Overall I would say the SunJoe is the better deal, it has decent reviews and a 2 year warranty.

There are of course a wide array of models and styles of lawnmowers in this category. You could go with one like the GreenWorks that is a bit more advanced and has a removable battery that can be used for other tools as well.

This GreenWorks looks good. Or you could go the other direction with a manual 14 inch mower and never have to worry about gas, charging, or battery life. I found the American Lawn Mower Company Sells one for under $100.

Ferrex Cordless Electric Lawn Mower Reviews

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent39%
Very good33%
Average6%
Poor0%
Terrible22%

Just purchased

Rated 4.0 out of 5
July 22, 2022

I picked one up and it has 2 batteries and a charger. I was thrilled because I wanted to buy the ryobi 18v and it was $185 and the 40v was $250+ used

Faye

Good little mower at $85

Rated 4.0 out of 5
July 22, 2022

I bought this for a trim mower that I could use to mow under trees in my yard. I have a canopy on my lawn tractor and can’t drive it under low hanging limbs. It’s a pain to stoop and bend around under the limbs with a string trimmer with my bad back. This little cordless seemed like it might work, so I got it on sale. With Aldi’s generous return policy, I felt I had little to lose.

I charged up the batteries while I put it together. I read through the manual and couldn’t find where it said I could use it without the bag. It turns out that I can. There is a grass clipping chute that dumps out the back of the mower when the bag is not in place. The handle is long enough for me to push the mower to the tree trunk while still standing outside the tree branches. I set it on height 4 and matched my lawn tractor deck height exactly. The job it does is excellent. I don’t know how long the batteries will last because I finished all the trim mowing in my yard in about 20 minutes. Time will tell.

Pros: It’s cordless, so there’s no gas or oil to mess with, no cord to watch out for, no outlet needed. It’s very lightweight, easy to push and maneuver. It stores in very little space and is easy to haul around, even in a small car trunk. It is very quiet compared to a gas mower or trimmer. The 2 batteries recharge in about 4 hours total (see below). There are safety features that deter accidental startup. There is a plastic key that has to be inserted in its position for the batteries to connect and a “start” button that has to be held down before the handle triggers will start the mower. Cleanup with a soft brush and a dust cloth.

Cons: Mow dry grass only! The charger can only charge one battery at a time and the manual says to charge both batteries to full charge every time before using them. The way the handle is made puts the grips at about 50 inches above the ground. I am 6′-2″ and my hands are at chest level when pushing this mower. I can imagine that a shorter person might have an issue with the handle being to high to be comfortable to push this mower. I cannot find any adjustment for this.

Overall: I like this mower for what I am using it for. I don’t know how practical it would be for mowing a whole yard. Maybe OK for a small yard or if you want to get a lot of walking exercise. It does regular mowing well. It is not a bush-hog for out of control grass. Used as intended, I think it is a great buy when on sale and probably a good buy at regular price. I have seen just the 20 volt charger with two 4ah batteries selling for about $50. Parts appear to be available online from Worx (same parent company as Ferrex, I believe) for reasonable prices.

Dave H

Marked down to $85.

Rated 3.0 out of 5
July 21, 2022

NO WONDER. NOT SELF Propelled. No battery or charger.

Betty S

Adam @ Aldi Things.com

Adam is a home cook and Aldi fan who focuses on cooking easy, healthy, everyday meals for the family.

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn

Most Popular

Get The Latest Updates

Get A Heads Up On The Latest Aldi Deals and Meals

Categories

On Key

Related Posts

Aldi Training Jacket

Crane Men’s Training Apparel

Aldi Men’s Training Apparel Elevate your workout wardrobe with Crane’s Men’s Training Jacket and Pants, now available at Aldi for just $12.99 each. These items are part of Aldi’s special finds, available for a limited time starting 1/3/2024. The training jacket comes in black, grey, or green, fitting sizes S

Aldi State of Brewing Hopwater

State of Brewing Hop Water

Aldi Hop Water Introducing the State of Brewing Hop Water, a unique 0.0% ABV sparkling water, now available at Aldi. This innovative beverage is a limited-time Aldi Find, so be sure to grab it while you can. Price is going to vary somewhat based on location as this is still

crane Women's fitness tight

Crane Ladies Fitness Tight

Aldi Ladies Fitness Tight Step into the world of comfort and style with Aldi’s Ladies Fitness Tight, a Crane exclusive. Priced at just $9.99, these tights become available on 1/3/2023. As part of Aldi’s special finds, they’re here for a limited time, offering a blend of functionality and fashion. These

Crane Ladies Activewear Pullover

Crane Ladies Active Pullover

Aldi Ladies Active Pullover Discover the latest addition to Aldi’s exclusive collection: the Ladies Active Pullover. This stylish and functional pullover is set to hit the shelves at an attractive price of just $12.99. This pullover will become available from 1/3/2023. As a coveted Aldi Find, remember, it’s available for